Skip to content
February 23, 2013 / ShapedforFitness

Healthy Weekends

I love weekends, as do most people, but I love how healthy I get on the weekends. I get to spend extra time exercising, taking my time to make or grab healthy meals, spending quality time with girlfriends & my husband, and getting extra rest. Last weekend was especially nice with 3-days off for President’s Day.

Teaching at Xtend BarreXtend Barre

On Saturday, I taught 3 classes at Xtend Barre Mission Viejo and got the most wonderful endorphin high from teaching. I LOVE being a fitness instructor! 3 hours of teaching is pretty exhausting and I start to fumble/mix up my words by the 3rd class, “bring your knee to your seat” instead of “ bring your heel to your seat”. But regardless of how tired I am, I get energy from the students challenging themselves, feeling beautiful and smiling after a hard workout.

And who wouldn’t love working out in a studio like this? 

Xtend Barre Mission Viejo

Bowl of Heaven

After the last class at Xtend Barre, Katie, Sarah and I went to Bowl of Heaven in Rancho Santa Margarita.

Bowl of Heaven RSM

(Sarah’s photo)

From the Bowl of Heaven Website . . . . .

World famous açaí bowls. Voted best frozen treat by reader’s choice poll at Patch news! Each bowl is loaded with anti-oxidants, highly nutritious, and delicious fruits. Every Bowl of Heaven™ is custom made with FRESH, FROZEN, and EXOTIC SUPER-FRUITS. 

Acai Berry

On Saturday, we also got to meet the owner of the shop and he explained the whole menu and why acai bowls are so good for your body. I decided to get Dan’s Peanut Butter Bowl because it had more umph (exhausted after the 3 classes) with acai, bananas, strawberries, natural peanut butter, chocolate almond milk, and their signature Gac superfruit blend. Then its topped with more bananas, organic granola, and honey. Dan’s Peanut Butter Bowl was delicious!!!! I’ve been craving another one it was so good. Only downside to Bowl of Heaven is the price, $6.50-$7.00 for a regular bowl or $9.00 for a large. The treat is well worth it though!

Bowl of Heaven Peanut Butter Bowl

(www.bowlofheaven.com)

Bowl of Heaven in RSM also promotes community wellness and has 30-day challenges to not only lose weight but to improve your health from the inside out. Check out this sample of 5-lbs of fat. Ewwww, so gross!!!

5lbs of fat(Sarah’s photo of me modeling the 5lbs)

The number on the scale doesn’t always reflect how healthy you are. You could be “skinny fat” or “thick & fit”. It’s more important to have a healthy body composition than a lower number on the scale. And muscle weighs more than fat! After 4 months of taking barre classes, I lost about 4 inches off my body but my weight didn’t change. I’ll take the smaller size any day!

UC Irvine Gym & Foam Rolling

On Sunday I taught a yoga class and then took the rest of the day off from exercise. On Monday, I got up early to enjoy a long workout session a the UCI rec center.

IMG_0476

My walk to the gym

IMG_0477

Outside of the ARC – Anteater Recreation Center

IMG_0478

Climbing wall in the ARC

IMG_0479

Huge gym with 3 basketball courts and a running track above. At 8am, college students aren’t awake, whole gym to yourself. But at 8pm, this place is packed with every machine being used.

IMG_0480

One of the gyms. I’m in the 3rd row of cardio machines with 3 rows behind me.

IMG_0483

Got in a good sweat with 50 minutes on the elliptical, 5.76 miles, burned 630 calories.

IMG_0484

Ended my workout with some abs and a very important foam rolling session with these 3 rolls – Quadriceps, IT band, and Piriformis

IMG_0528

IMG_0489

Love my purple Old Navy tank and purple BIC Band!

And when I got home, the UPS guy delivered our Ravens Championship Gear!!!!

IMG_0526 IMG_0527

Do you foam roll?

What’s your favorite foam rolling move?

Ever fall off?

Out-take photo falling off the foam roller

Out-take photo falling off the foam roller

 

Are you healthier on the weekends or weekdays??

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Nikka / May 7 2013 6:25 pm

    I always love workouts. Every weekends, I usually go to the gym. This is my way to relieve stress from work as well as to have a healthy body. Not only working out will help me but also eating what the body need. I haven’t tried a bowl of acai but if I have the time to visit that place, surely I would really try and reap it’s benefits. 🙂

  2. JR / May 7 2013 8:13 pm

    Now that’s a perfect place to go with especially for those who are health conscious person.

Leave a Reply

