Skip to content
November 6, 2012 / ShapedforFitness

Recovery Month

Good news. . . .I’m almost done with rest & physical therapy on my knee! It’s been an interesting 5 weeks so far with lots physical and mental battles. Not going to lie, it’s been tough on me. My first battle was fighting the urge to exercise. I went from 40 hours of exercise per month (teaching/taking classes & working out) to about 4 hours per week of extremely modified exercise. I am very thankful I can do modified workouts with Pilates and swimming, but I still long for that intense burn in the muscles, sweat dripping down my face, and a heart pumping workout.

I’ve also been impacted physically with quad muscle atrophy. I can grab a wad of skin on my thigh where my quads used to be!  It’s tough seeing my toned muscles, that I worked so hard for, just fade away. I have to remember, this is just temporary, they will come back. . . . . . the flip side (literally) is that my hamstrings and glutes are much stronger now.

The other mental battle I faced was discouragement. I know my knee getting better because I can walk down stairs without wincing in pain, but I still have pain. I question, why does it still hurt? Will the healing take longer than 6 weeks? Will it ever heal? The physical therapist said the important thing is that I don’t have sharp pain any more and the dull, achy pain will diminish over time. I have to keep reminding myself that this is just a temporary setback in my life and fitness career, and that I will learn from the injury and come out better in the end. Have FAITH!

The Rest of October. . . . .

I finally got my hard-earned “free” Lorna Jane outfit from the Xtend Barre challenge! LOVE it!!

Inspirational Tank, Everyday 3/4 Tight, and Pammy Crop sports bra

The tank hangs well on my body and the tights are snug but very flexible. My favorite part about the outfit is the sports bra. I like the thin straps, X back, and best of all, the padded PUSH UP cups. Never thought I’d wear a push-up bra to workout in! I liked it so much I went and bought a second bra!

Lorna Jane Pammy Crop ~ http://www.lornajane.com

Lorna Jane Alana Bra ~ http://www.lornajane.com

Swimming, lots of swimming

Since swimming gives me the best workout while I’m resting my knee, I’ve been going about 3 times per week. I either meet with my friend Sam for a swim or go to this beautiful pool at the Anteater Rec Center (ARC) on UC Irvine’s campus:

These were 2 different Sunday afternoons and almost had the whole pool to myself. . . when I started that is. About half way into my workouts, the lanes filled up with minimum 2 people per lane.

There’s something about this pool that makes me want to keep swimming and swimming, but I can’t figure out why. Is it the super clean water? Lots of lanes? Competition with other swimmers? 🙂 I mean. . . . I would never compete with the girl/guy next to me to see who can get to the wall first. Haha, you can take the girl out of competition, but you can’t take the competition out of the girl!

Football

This fall my husband coached football at Mater Dei High School and I got to watch a lot of games. Friday nights were the varsity football games and Saturday mornings were the freshman games, which he coached. So proud of him for leading his team to a 9-1 season!

New Hair Style

Non-fitness related, but a big change for me. . . .I chopped my hair off! I love it! 

Halloween at Xtend Barre

My friend Sarah, aka SkinnyRunner, and I were the only 2 that dressed up for Xtend Barre class on Halloween, but we had fun and looked cute!

And, my catwoman costume was so good, I got this reaction out of my cat. . . . HAHAHAHA!!!!

What was the best costume you saw this Halloween?

I thought the Kardashian group had the most elaborate and well-coordinated outfits (source)

Kim Kardashian Halloween Birthday Bash At LIV Nightclub

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. SkinnyRunner / Nov 6 2012 11:22 am

    hope you do and are healing fast, my friend!

  2. The Running Ginger / Nov 29 2012 5:30 pm

    Sorry to hear about your knee, but I am glad you are near the end. What kind of pain was it, and where did it hurt? I have a minor thing going on right now. I have been taking it easy, a I don’t want it to get worse.

    Have you thought about or done a tri? Since you have been swimming, might be something to consider.

    • ShapedforFitness / Nov 29 2012 8:30 pm

      Thanks! I had sharp, stabbing pain above my knee cap when I would squat or lunge, and I couldn’t support my weight on that leg when the knee was bent. The MRI showed that I partially tore my quad tendon, which connects the quad muscles to the knee cap. It’s been a SLOW recovery and I’m still working through the pain.

      Yes, I love triathlons! Check out my About Me page with some tri photos. I haven’t done a tri in over 4 years but would love to get back into it once my knee is healed.

      Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

