Skip to content
October 6, 2012 / ShapedforFitness

New Fitness Opportunities

It’s been about a week since I learned about my knee injury and got the order to rest. My initial reaction was frustration with “I can’t do this, I can’t do that. . . What am I going to do?. . . I’m going to get so out of shape!” I love exercising and being told not to was a huge disappointment.

But, I’m happy to say I have a new frame of mind. Like my aunt told me, “when one door closes, another door opens.” I also believe that everything happens for a reason and God has a better plan for me. I don’t understand why I’m side lined with an injury, but I’m trust that I will come out better in the end.

There are many different ways to exercise and a small injury or physical limitation shouldn’t stop you completely. With your doctor or therapist’s permission, you can find something that works for you. For me, I have to avoid weight-bearing knee bends like squats or lunges, and no fast movements with knee bends like running or biking. That sure cuts out a lot of classes and cardio for me! I can however, bear weight on my leg with a straight or slightly bent leg so I can still do balance exercises. I can also do upper body and core work all day long.

The positive outlook. . . I now have the opportunity to focus on other forms of fitness while rehabbing my knee.

Refocus on Pilates

After getting certified to teach mat Pilates, I got so caught up in training for Xtend Barre that I stopped practicing Pilates. Pilates is the foundation of Xtend Barre and I still teach it in my classes, but I let my attention slip away from the core principles. Now is my opportunity to refocus of Pilates to help myself get better, deepen my own practice, and to improve my teaching skills.

I’m so thankful I can still do Pilates, it’s one of the best forms of exercise to rehab your body. My favorite Pilates classes are on PilatesAnytime.com so I renewed my membership for only $18/month for unlimited online Pilates classes.

This week I did Courtney Miller’s mat class and LOVED IT! Courtney is my friend from Xtend Barre who trained me to teach Xtend Barre and she is one of my favorite instructors. Her classes are always challenging with a good flow of exercises and pace, but what sets her apart from other instructors is her ability to help you get deeper into the pose or exercise. As you work through each exercise, she explains what you should be feeling, which muscles should be working, the proper body alignment and how to bring your breath into the movement.

Here are some of my favorite exercises from the class:

Bottoms Up with Straight Leg Liftsburning booty! From a strong bridge, you send one leg straight up. Keeping your hips elevated, lower the straight leg with a flexed foot down to about 6 inches off the floor and then briskly return the straight leg up with a pointed toe. The pace is quick but controlled. 8 reps each leg.

Bottoms up with straight leg lower-lift

Pilates Teaserlove this one, very challenging to hold your balance while lowering and lifting your legs. It’s all about control.

Starting position of teaser

Lower legs & lift arms overhead, return to starting position

Side Leg Series in a Side Plank – The side leg series is usually done lying on your side on the mat. You do leg lifts, leg kicks forward and back, and leg circles. But, Courtney combined it with a side plank, which amped up the intensity. Not only was my hip feeling the burn but also my obliques and shoulder.

Hold side plank while doing the side leg series

After the 50 minute workout, I felt stronger, refreshed, and more balanced. In regards to my knee, I could do all of the exercises but one so I’m definitely doing this workout again! Thanks Courtney & PilatesAnytime!

Cardio Workout – Swimming

Cardio was the biggest puzzle for me. How can I get my heart rate up without using my legs? Swim! With modifications of course. This week I did a swim workout with my friend Sam and for the most part I was pain-free. And I got my heart rate up!

The 2 modifications for swimming are a lightened kick and no pushing off the wall after a flip turn. I also realized that if I focus my attention on my butt to power the movement, instead of the quads, I have a smoother stroke. Felt like the more efficient way to kick. Another way to avoid over kicking is to use a pull buoy between your thighs. My workout was alternating 100s with and without the buoy for 1200 total yards.

Swimming Pull Buoy

And a big thanks to my friend Sam for working out with me!

Sam swimming her final laps, snuck in a photo of her 🙂

Have you discovered a new type of fitness because of an injury or set back?

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Auntie Lynn / Oct 7 2012 8:23 am

    We are so proud of your positive outlook with your rehab phase & in your life. You “go girl”!!

  2. ShapedforFitness / Oct 7 2012 8:42 am

    Thanks Auntie Lynn! And thanks for the inspiration too!

  3. Beth Dentes / Oct 7 2012 7:13 pm

    I like really like reading your blog! I feel like it helps me keep in touch with what you’re doing even when you’re in CA. Keep up the hard work! You are definetly a source of inspiration for me and my workouts.

    • ShapedforFitness / Oct 7 2012 7:59 pm

      Thank you so much Beth! That means a lot to me to hear I’m inspiring you & your workouts! I’m glad I can reach you thru the blog and keep in touch too!

  4. torontorunner / Nov 1 2012 12:38 pm

    Hey! I’m new here 🙂

    I wanted to say I’m soo sorry to hear about your injury! It’s awful. 😦 But, you have such a great attitude about it and lots of great ideas for other things to do! I hope you heal up much, much sooner than later!

Trackbacks

  1. Recovery Month « SHAPEd for Fitness

Leave a Reply

