Skip to content
February 20, 2012 / ShapedforFitness

Piloxing at Xtend Barre

I’m officially on the Xtend Barre Mission Viejo schedule to teach Piloxing!!!

Image

On Friday I taught my first 60 min Piloxing class at Xtend Barre and it went really well! So good I made it on the schedule! I was pretty nervous for my first official class in a real studio, and during the warm-up I actually found my legs shaking as I held a stretch. 🙂 I took a deep breath, prayed a quick prayer, and looked at the 4 lovely ladies who came to class with me, all friends who were there to support me, not judge me. After that moment, I felt great and stepped up my confidence to lead them in a challenging class. I had a few flubs, but no one noticed. Things like getting off the 8-count beat and finishing a set 30 seconds too early, but I improvised and got us back on schedule. I know I’ll never be perfect with the routine, but I’m happy I was able to keep up with pace without breaking the rhythm.

My favorite part about teaching the class was challenging each student beyond their comfort zone. We all get comfortable during a workout and continue lifting our legs to a certain height, or punching with the same amount of intensity, and I was happy to push each person to go a little bit higher or harder. So fun! In the end, everyone was drenched in sweat and thankful for the intense workout. Piloxing is no joke!

The current plan is for me to teach Wednesdays at 6:00am and alternate a weekend class with Stephanie, the co-owner of XBMV. I really hope Piloxing takes off and people want more classes, cause I’m ready to make them sweat!!

Leave a Reply

