Skip to content
February 2, 2012 / ShapedforFitness

My First Group Fitness Classes

It’s been 2 weeks since my fitness program at work was approved and I’m happy to report that I’ve had 4 successful group fitness classes! Praise God! News about the program spread quickly and I am constantly stopped in the hallway, bathroom or kitchen to ask about the classes. People are thrilled to have FREE fitness classes right here at work.

Body Sculpt Class

My first class on Monday, Jan 23rd was a one-hour total body workout that I called Body Sculpt. Seven committed ladies attended the class and worked very hard! Here’s what we did:

  1. Warm-up: Smooth, limbering movements like side to side squat toe taps, arm movements, and light stretching
  2. Arms: Light weight (2-3lbs), high repetition exercises to target all the arm muscles, and then a few push-ups and tricep dips.
  3. Circuit: I set up 6 stations of exercises in a circle and had them do 2 rounds. Round 1 was 90 seconds per station (20 sec rest between stations) and Round 2 was 30 seconds per station (10 seconds rest). The stations were squats, push up/side plank combo, lunges, dumbbell rows, standing leg lifts, and bicycle abs.
  4. Abs: We did a handful of ab exercises like roll downs to the center, right & left, reach for toes in the sky, and reach through legs in a narrow V.
  5. Booty/Hips: On all 4’s we did straight leg lifts, knee flexion, heel to the sky, and knee to the side (fire hydrant lifts). For the hips we laid on our side with knees bent at 90 degrees and did leg lifts up, forward, back, in circles and the clamshell. All simple moves with no weight, but they burn like crazy!
  6. Cool Down: Stretched out the muscles and let our bodies relax.

Overall, I felt the class went very well and everyone was excited for more classes. At least I didn’t scare them away! After doing the same class again this week, I got a suggestion from one of the girls to do the same exercises but as a group at the same time. I think this is a great idea because when everyone was at different stations doing different exercises, I had a hard time coaching and encouraging them. I was pulled left and right, and got distracted on the time. If we all do squats together I can show them the proper form and then challenge them with harder variations.

Warrior 2 (www.health.com)

Yoga

On Wednesday, we changed up the class and did a yoga session. 6 out of the 7 ladies had never done yoga before so we took it very slow and did basic poses for a short amount of time. Here’s a breakdown of the class:

  • Vinyasa Flow warm-up
  • Warrior poses: High lunge, Warrior 1, Warrior 2, and Reverse Warrior
  • Hip opener poses & pigeon
  • Balance poses: tree & single leg holds with bent knee to the front and side
  • Core: Modified boat pose, toe taps from table top and slow bicycle. For the lower back, we did Superman upper body lifts and ended with bridge.
  • Final relaxation in Shavasana, corpse pose

The class was pretty hard for most of the women last week and we took a lot of breaks, but we did the class again yesterday and they improved 100% in their 2nd class! I was such a proud instructor! I got the “teacher’s high” too!

Teaching group fitness classes is incredibly rewarding to me and it brings me joy seeing people take steps towards a healthier life. I’m so thankful I’ve found what I’m SHAPEd to do!

I’m Shaped For Fitness!

Leave a Reply

