Skip to content
December 5, 2011 / ShapedforFitness

Office Politics & My Fitness Program

Last week I got some upsetting news about the fitness program I planned to start at work. Over the past couple weeks, I talked to all the departments I thought should be involved in the program including the HR dept, legal dept, risks & liabilities dept, the HR VP, and even the President of the company. All of them thought it was a great idea and were actually excited about offering a fitness program to the employees. And, I already had a group of 8 women who volunteered to be my practice students until I was ready to open the program to more students.

With these departments, we worked through different topics of discussion like a liability waiver, medical clearance, equipment to be used, class times, etc, and everything seemed to be okay so I scheduled my first practice class and information session for Wednesday last week. But, the day before the class, one more person got involved in the process and found an issue with moving forward. The program came to a complete halt and the HR department said we can’t move forward until every issue has been worked out and all departments give the official sign-off.

I was devastated and felt like I let all these women down who were excited and ready to get fit. Thankfully, they are all very understanding about the office politics and are willing to wait. As much as I want to get started, I have to be patient and trust that the program is on hold for a reason. All things happen for a reason. . . .when God has us waiting it’s because He is preparing all the pieces to come together in order for His perfect plan to work! God willing, I will be able to share my passion for fitness and help my co-workers achieve their fitness goals in the future.

Psalm 27:14 (A David Psalm)

Stay with God! Take heart. Don’t quit. I’ll say it again: Stay with God. (MSG)

Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord. (NIV)

Leave a Reply

