Skip to content
November 18, 2011 / ShapedforFitness

AFAA Group Fitness Exam

Tomorrow is the big day! After reading the AFAA Fitness & Theory Textbook for 3.5 weeks, the day has finally come to test my knowledge and skills. Tomorrow I will be going up to Santa Monica for an all day workshop, practical exam, and written exam from 10am – 7pm.

Here’s the breakdown of the day:

  1. Review session to go over study guide and practice our demonstration skills
  2. Demonstrate 2 exercises and 1 stretch per muscle group (arms, chest & upper-back, abs & lower-back, hips & glutes, hamstrings & quads)
  3. Demonstrate a proper warm-up
  4. Instruct one section of a workout to the group of other test takers
  5. 100-question multiple choice exam

Thanks again to my friends and family for supporting me in my fitness journey! And, a big thank you to my husband for the quiet nights over the past 3 weeks while I study.

Please pray for me!

Philippians 4:13

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kylie / Nov 18 2011 1:46 pm

    Good Luck Bri! I will be thinking of you!

    Love ya!
    Ky

  2. iAMincharge / May 9 2012 7:18 am

    I am looking to get certified too! I currently teach PiYo, Turbo Kick, and a Cardio Fusion class but want to add national fitness instructor cert to my resume. I took an ACE exam prep course but AFAA is coming to a gym near me. Which do you think is more credible?

    • ShapedforFitness / May 9 2012 9:07 am

      Awesome! Sounds like you already have a good background teaching fitness, which will be great for the certification exams. Both ACE & AFAA are widely accepted group fitness certifications so you’d be fine with either one. The AFAA certifcation is a more rigorous than ACE because you are required to attend a 8-hour workshop and pass a 3-part exam: 100-question writen test, exercise demonstration and class instruction. The ACE certification only requires you to pass a written exam.

      Both ACE & AFAA require you to recertify every 2 years, which costs about $300 (minimum) and takes about 20-25 hours total. They also both offer online continuing education credits and in-person workshops. I think it really depends on your schedule and the convenience of workshops near you. I’ve been happy with AFAA and would recommend it to people.

      Good Luck!

      • iAMincharge / May 9 2012 9:09 am

        Thanks so much, that’s really helpful!

Leave a Reply

