Skip to content
November 3, 2011 / ShapedforFitness

Pure Barre Class #2

Tuesday’s workout: Pure Barre class #2

Wednesday’s workout: 20 Elliptical + 25 min power yoga + 10 min abs + 5 min stretching

After Sunday’s very challenging Pure Barre class, I was so excited to go back for another class. I love it when a fitness class pushes me to my limits and I can’t complete the sets. Muscle exhaustion and shaking feels good to me, is that strange? When I get to that point in a workout, I know my muscles are getting stronger and stepping up to the next level. If the workout is easy, you’re maintaining your strength not increasing it. When we lifted weights in college softball, the strength coach would always tell us that you know when you’re using the right amount of weight when the final 2-3 reps are very difficult. If you finish a set of 12 reps easily, it’s time to step up to the next weight. That’s why I like the challenge of Pure Barre workouts.

On Tuesday I went to the 6:00am class and surprisingly there were about 12 women there, all with energy. The last couple studios I’ve been to have max 4 students at the 5:30/6:00am classes. The instructor was way different from the Sunday class instructor and had a different mix of exercises. The warm up and arms were the same but for the leg and hip section we did more “big muscle” exercises that focused on the quads and hamstrings. Although we still did tiny, isolated movements I felt way stronger and could finish the sets.

Here’s a sample of what we did differently:

Lean back with pelvic tilts to the front, sides and hip circles

Hamstring press backs and curls - burning!!

Surprisingly Sunday’s Pure Barre class didn’t make me too sore, just isolated soreness in my hips. But, Tuesday’s class, which felt easier, gave me major knots in my quads and hamstrings. Getting up and down stairs was rough! So for my workout last night I did a little cardio to get the muscles warmed up and then did yoga to stretch (and still strengthen) those sore muscles.

Unfortunately, today I’m feeling sick so I’m going to take the day off from exercise and rest. Good time for me to study for the AFAA exam.

Happy Wednesday!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rose / Nov 4 2011 2:49 pm

    I love exercizes that burn without any additional tools – no weights, balls, barre – just my own weight and gravity. I gotta try these.

    • ShapedforFitness / Nov 5 2011 10:08 am

      They are awesome exercises, I’ve never been so sore too!

Leave a Reply

