Skip to content
October 26, 2011 / ShapedforFitness

Ready. . . .Set . . . Study!

Workout Yesterday: Booty Barre 50 min via PilatesAnytime.com

Last night after I got home from work I had exactly 1 hour to change clothes, workout and eat dinner before going to bible study. Thankfully Booty Barre is a total body workout and gets your heart pumping so I got an awesome workout in a short amount of time.

One of the toughest parts of the workout is the standing Pilates front-back kick. In Pilates you lay on your side, raise your top leg about 3 inches off the bottom leg, then kick your leg forward for two beats and then kick it back for two beats in a smooth sweeping fashion. In Booty Barre, you stand on one leg and hold the other leg out parallel to the floor. Just holding the leg out is hard! Then, without shifting in the hips and core you have to do the kick-kick forward and kick-kick back. That move is my biggest challenge and last night I was really focussing on it. My goal is to not have any movement in my body, just from the hip.

On another note. . . . .It’s official, I signed up for the AFAA Primary Group Fitness Instructor certification last night! The workshop and test are on Saturday, November 19th so I have 3.5 weeks to study this massive book:

My life for the next 3.5 weeks

This book has over 40 chapters and covers everything from the history of fitness, anatomy, muscles, bones, heart and respiratory systems, different fitness practices, fitness for young people, old people, obese people, pregnant women and finally the legal aspect of group fitness. Lots to read in 3.5 weeks but I have a study plan and I have faith that God will help me through it.

Tonight I’m trying out a new barre class at Xtend Barre in Mission Viejo. “The Xtend Barre Workout is the premier ballet barre workout… Dance and Pilates Amplified,” says the website. Sounds to me like a ballet intensive class and less cardio than Booty Barre. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

