Skip to content
October 23, 2011 / ShapedforFitness

My SHAPE

Here it goes, my first blog! My name is Bri and I’m on my journey of discovering my S.H.A.P.E. We are all created for a purpose and God gave each of us our Spiritual Gifts, Heart, Abilities, Personality and Experiences (SHAPE) to serve Him and others. (SHAPE is from Saddleback Church) Through months of contemplation and prayer, I feel like I finally discovered what I was SHAPEd to do, Fitness! It may not seem surprising to my family and close friends, because I’ve always been involved in sports and fitness is ingrained in me. But, the difference is not just being involved in fitness, it’s leading others to fitness, encouraging them and showing them that they “can do all things in Christ who gives them strength.” Philippians 4:13

As a competitive athlete in many sports throughout high school and college, fitness has always been a passion of mine and I love sharing that passion with others. From training and coaching athletes in softball and volleyball to mentoring beginner triathletes, I find great joy in helping people reach their fitness goals. In one of my experiences, I encouraged one friend to fitness, she accomplished a goal and the next thing you know, her family members are getting involved. Plant and sow one seed and it can create a whole crop!  Fitness spreads quickly if people believe they can do it.

I created this blog because I feel led to be a group fitness instructor and I want to share this journey with my friends and family. Over the past couple months, I’ve taken many group fitness classes and plan on taking many more in search of my place in fitness. I will share with you the studios I visit, the classes I take and how I feel about the classes. Also, next month I’ll be taking the group fitness certification through AFAA, which will give me official training in fitness instruction. I have some ideas on what I’ll do next but for now I’m taking one step at a time.

Thanks for reading!

Bri

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jennie Reider / Oct 24 2011 6:18 am

    Bri,
    This is awesome that you are starting this blog! I am very proud of you for pursuing this and using your natural talents to reach out to others. Looking forward to following you on the rest of the journey. 🙂
    Jennie

    • shapedforfitness / Oct 24 2011 8:44 am

      Thanks Jennie! I really appreciate your love, support and prayers on my SHAPE journey!

  2. Kylie / Oct 24 2011 12:39 pm

    Hi Bri!

    Good for you! I’m so excited for you to start this! You have been dabbling with the idea for quite some time now – and here you are! Looking forward to hearing about your adventures!

    Love you! And miss you lots!
    Ky

    P.S. Also looking forward to getting some private training on your trips home! 🙂

    • ShapedforFitness / Oct 24 2011 1:44 pm

      Thanks Ky! I’ll definitely give you a workout, I need people to practice teaching to as well. I’m in my student teacher phase. 🙂

      Click on the “Follow” link in the upper left corner and you’ll get an email everytime I write a new post. Love you too!

      • Kylie / Oct 24 2011 9:44 pm

        We could start skyping! Another mode of teaching! Haha!

Leave a Reply

