Skip to content
June 28, 2012 / ShapedforFitness

Week 1: Shakeology 30-day Challenge

First week of Shakeology is complete and I’m feeling good!

myshakeology.com/shaped4fitness

Shakeology is definitely the most simple and best tasting nutrition shake I’ve ever had. I’m doing a 30-day Shakeology test to see if it really makes a difference in my body and after the first week, I can notice a difference. Every day I record these things so I can monitor my progress:

  • Shakeology recipe
  • Timing, hunger and cravings
  • Exercise
  • Energy levels
  • Weight
  • Digestive system
  • Overall feelings/comments

Shakeology Recipes

Mixing tool inside the shaker to help separate any chunks of powder

Most days I simply mix the chocolate Shakeology with 14 ounces of cold water and mix it in my shaker, which creates a smooth, frothy and light drink. It has a little after taste and surprisingly has a hint of citrus flavor.

My favorite Shakeology recipe is chocolate Shakeology with 14 ounces of ice coffee and 2 tablespoons of vanilla creamer. YUUMMMM!!!! It’s like drinking an iced mocha. I’m not a big fan of the citrus flavor but when I mix it with coffee I don’t notice it.

Like I said in my previous post, convenience is a huge factor for me. The faster I can get out the door the better because I’m usually in a rush after teaching Xtend Barre or Piloxing at 6am and trying to get ready to go to work. It takes 30 seconds to get the water/coffee, scoop the Shakeology, and I’m out the door shaking the shaker as I walk to my car. So easy!

Timing, Hunger & Cravings

Another thing that I like about Shakeology is how full I feel. Typically I drink the shake around 7:30am and don’t get hungry again until sometime between 10-10:30am. If I mix the shake with water, I’ll also have 16 ounces of drip coffee when I get to work, but that’s it. During those 2.5 – 3 hours I’m so full I don’t have any cravings for food. The only cravings I have is for water. Shakeology does make me more thirsty than normal. When I get hungry at 10:30am, I get HUNGRY, stomach growling hungry. Much stronger feelings than before. For my morning snack I usually have yogurt with a little bit of granola and that holds me over until lunch.

Exercise & Energy Levels

Exercising was not an issue for me before I started Shakeology so I continued my regular workout and teaching schedule. One positive thing I noticed is that I have sustained energy throughout my workouts while on Shakeology. My energy lasts throughout my work day and all the way through my evening workouts. When I don’t get enough sleep at night I still feel sleepy in the morning but my body feels strong and doesn’t feel like it’s dragging. Most days I noticed higher energy levels all the way until I went to bed.

Weight

Being completely honest, my weight has creeped up on me over the past few months and I gained about 3 pounds unexpectedly. I feel like I workout way more than I used to, but I think I might be deceiving myself while teaching. I get tired from teaching because I’m moving around, talking and demonstrating, but I really only get half of a workout. Lately I’ve added more cardio workouts like swimming, the elliptical, and cardio bootcamp to balance out my exercise regime. During week 1 of Shakeology my weight didn’t change.

Digestive System

My digestive system is usually regular but I have a very sensitive stomach. I can’t eat most fruits and vegetables without getting stabbing pains in my stomach for 4+ hours and the only remedy is to curl up in the fetal position until it passes. I’ve figured out how to avoid the pains, but that means I don’t get enough fruits, veggies and nutrients in my diet. Good news! Zero stomach pain with Shakeology! I’m so excited this is working with my system. The craziest thing that happened during the first couple days was the overactive digestive system. Watch out. . . TMI. . . . I had 2-3 bowel movements each day on days 2, 3, & 4. . . more active than normal. My stomach also had a lot of gurgling. Not painful, just movement. I’m assuming Shakeology was cleaning out my system. After the 4th day, my system returned back to normal and the gurgling stopped.

Overall Feelings & Comments

In addition to the overactive digestive system during the first few days, my body felt warmer than normal. My face felt warm like I had been sitting outside on a hot day in the shade. It was a similar feeling to the warmth I get with a stomach ache, like my body was processing something, but nothing painful. Thankfully that only lasted a few days and I’m back to normal.

After one week of Shakeology, my body feels good and I’m very happy that I’m getting more nutrients and vitamins in my diet. I’m really looking forward to seeing changes and improvements in my body over the next 3 weeks.

**************************

If you are interested in trying Shakeology and doing the 30-day challenge with me, Beachbody is offering a fantastic 30-day trial offer through the end of July for only $14.95 (cost of shipping).  You pick one of the top 3 selling challenge packs with a fitness program and Shakeology, and if you’re happy with the products after 30-days then you pay the full price. If you don’t like the challenge pack, you return everything for free. Basically you get to try it out before you buy it. (Beachbody Challenge Trial FAQ) Here are the 3 challenge packs to choose from:

P90x challenge pack $205

Turbo Fire challenge pack $205

Brazil Butt Lift Challenge Pack $160

Email me if you’re interested or have any questions:

ShapedforFitness@gmail.com

Beachbodycoach.com/Shaped4Fitness

******************

For more info & to try Shakeology go to

myshakeology.com/shaped4fitness

(copy & paste website into browser)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

