Skip to content
June 20, 2012 / ShapedforFitness

Shakeology – Day 1

Yesterday I started Shakeology and have very positive feedback to share. My initial impression was great and I can’t wait for my next shake!

Day 1 Stats:

Shake: 1 scoop of Shakeology with 12 ounces of cold water

Workout: 45 minutes of swimming, 1,750 yards, with my friend Sam

My initial impression of the shake was that it tasted so good! I was surprised how frothy it was, there weren’t any chucks of powder, and it didn’t have a grainy feeling. It was like drinking chocolate milk with a hint of citris. The powder is ultra fine, which helps it mix better.

About half way thru the shake I was starting to feel full (surprising) but finished the whole shake. For two and a half hours I was still full, without any cravings, and then at the 3 hour mark I was ready for my morning snack, yogurt. I had my normal cup of coffee about 30 minutes after finishing the shake as well. The rest of the day I ate normal meals and snacks.

The only thing I noticed in my body was that I was more thirsty than normal. I drank a full water bottle (24 ounces) over the 3 hours and felt satisfied. Not a bad thing to crave water! I also had a good amount of energy throughout the day and felt great during my swim workout. And I got the nutrients of fruits & veggies without any stomach pain!

Favorite Things about Shakeology

1) Convenience - It took me 30 seconds to make my shake and I drank it on the way to work. How easy is that? I get a nutritious breakfast with minimal effort, drink it on the go, and minimal clean-up. I filled the shaker with 12 ounces of water, added one scoop of powder and shook it up as I walked to my car. My friend, Melissa, gave me this awesome Shakegology shaker, which has a measuring tool and mixing grate:

Shakeology Shaker

Mixing tool inside the shaker to help separate any chunks of powder

2) Taste – This is seriously the best tasting nutrition shake I’ve ever had. The ultra fine powder mixes so well and it becomes a thick, frothy liquid after shaking.  I’ve tried a bunch of different protein shakes, meal replacement shakes and energy drinks, and nothing compares to Shakeology. Plus, if you’re not a veggie person, it’s like drinking a salad full of nutrients with the flavor of chocolate milk.

Ingredients & Nutrition Facts

Another great thing about Shakeology is that it’s low on calories (150) and fat (1g). Check out the full nutrition and supplement facts: ShakeologyCocoa. It’s also gluten-free and without soy. There is an allergy note at the bottom that says it’s manufactured in a plant that also processes soy. In addition to Vitamins A, B, C, D, & E, Shakeology also contains calcium (500 mg), biotin (90 mcg for hair, skin & nails), and folic acid (200 mcg).  Lots of good stuff packed into a shake!

For more info & to try Shakeology go to myshakeology.com/shaped4fitness

(copy & paste website into browser)

Stay tuned for the Week 1 summary. . . . . 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

