Skip to content
May 2, 2012 / ShapedforFitness

One Step Closer to Xtend Barre

Hey! It’s been a while since my last blog post. I finally got an opportunity to sit down in between teaching fitness classes, taking classes and practicing for my certifications. First, exciting news . . . . .

I’m officially a certified Pilates mat instructor!

After completing the Peak Pilates basic mat certification course in Beaverton, Oregon in February, passing all the exams, and completing 30 Pilates hours, I’m officially certified! Praise God!

Being certified in Pilates is one of the requirements to teach Xtend Barre, and now I’m one step closer to teaching my first barre class. The final step to be a certified Xtend Barre instructor is to submit a video of myself teaching a full 55 minute Xtend Barre class. Over the past couple weeks I dragged a bunch of different friends with me to the studio to be my practice students. Thankfully I had some wonderful and very willing friends who enjoyed the free workouts. For me, every class I taught I felt I improved greatly from the class before and teaching a variety of students helped me learn which words had the greatest impact on them.

A couple of weeks ago I recorded my first class and learned a lot from watching myself on the video. Things I did well, things I need to change and silly nervous habits and twitches I have while teaching. For some reason my left hand flutters as I talk and demonstrate! So weird. . . anyways, after making a few adjustments to my routine, cueing techniques and form correction, I recorded a 2nd video last week. 6 lovely ladies joined me for the class and we all had a great time Xtending. Here are some photos of the class:

The ladies before the Xtend Barre class:

THANK YOU Susan, Amanda, Kristin, Vanessa, Sam & Kim!!

The Warm-Up:

Warm-up plies

Plie side stretch

 Arms:

Burning arms with light dumbbells

Everyone’s favorite. . . .push ups

Barre:

Making their legs shake in a plie on releve

One of my favorite exercises, chair. Burns like crazy!

Cardio plies

Floorwork:

Passe Abs

And this is how they felt AFTER the Xtend Barre class:

Love it!

I just love to make people sweat!

The video turned out pretty good, not perfect by any means, but it was a fair representation of me teaching. I still have so many things I want to work on to improve my teaching skills and the flow of the class, but I know that will come with time and experience. I’m just excited to get started! So, I took the final step towards certification last week, burned the video of this class to a disc and submitted it for approval, please pray for me!

Almost there!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

