Skip to content
February 4, 2012 / ShapedforFitness

Fitness Instructor Certifications

www.xtendbarreworkout.com

Not a big surprise, but I’ve changed my mind again on my fitness instructor certification plan.

Ever since I became hooked on barre classes, I knew that’s what I wanted to teach and set a goal to get certified as an instructor in 2012. Initially I wanted to get certified in Booty Barre, but I’m not connected to any local studios that offer Booty Barre. Then in November, I fell in love with Xtend Barre at a studio in Mission Viejo and really clicked with the owners, instructors and students there.

Me (2nd to left) with the fun instructors at Xtend Barre

On Thursday night at Xtend Barre, my instructor and friend, Courtney (the beautiful & talented lady below), told me about a Xtend Barre training coming up March 16-18 in San Diego. Isn’t is a super cute photo of Courtney? She’s going to be on the cover of Pilates Style magazine soon. So proud of her!

Courtney - Co-owner of Xtend Barre Mission Viejo

But, one of the requirements for Xtend Barre instructors is that you need a Pilates Mat certification, which I don’t have yet. I’ve been researching different Pilates Mat certifications and all of the nationally, and internationally, recognized Pilates organizations are very expensive ($500 to $1,000), require a ton of training hours (16-90 hours) and aren’t always offered here in SoCal.

Thankfully AFAA (Aerobics & Fitness Assoc of America), who I got my group fitness certification through, is offering a 1-day Pilates course next weekend in LA for only $99! The timing works out perfectly and it meets the minimum requirement for Xtend Barre!

I was a little concerned about being overwhelmed with all of the instructor trainings crammed into 3 months, but the Pilates & Yoga courses are basic and don’t require you to test out. Xtend Barre will be the most intense training and I’ll have plenty of time afterwards to practice before the test.

With all that said, here’s my updated instructor training schedule:

As for a big name Pilates certification like Stott, BASI, or Balanced Body Pilates, I think I’m going to hold off and see if that’s something I really want to invest in. The fitness industry is constantly changing so I know there will be plenty more instructor trainings in the future.

Have a great weekend!!!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Caroline / Feb 4 2012 10:59 am

    Hey, super exciting you will be going for the Xtend cert! I have not regretted going for mine. Just a quick comment on the Pilates mat cert, when I was doing my Xtend they did not accept AFAA Pilates cert. The certs accepted included BBU, Peak, AFPA, Power Pilates. There may be a couple more. You do not have to be mat certified at the exact time of training, just that you would be getting it in 60 days. I have even heard others say it is no longer required. I seriously don’t know what is up any more with the Pilates mat requirements b/c they seem to often change. You might want to email someone at Xtend like Joanna (joanna@xtendbarreworkout.com) who sort of handles all the paperwork type stuff for clarification – cause I’d hate for you to get a Pilates cert that wasn’t accepted. Good luck!!! You will LOVE training- super intense but fun. :)

  2. sweetopiagirl / Feb 8 2012 7:15 am

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  3. V. / Feb 8 2012 8:52 am
  4. FitnessLovingMom / Feb 10 2012 11:41 am

    I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award, check it out :) http://wp.me/p1t6mc-xF

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

