Skip to content
November 12, 2011 / ShapedforFitness

More Exciting News on my Fitness Training

First of all, God is so great!!! Last week I found out I can use the conference room at my work to teach fitness classes (prayer for facility) and on Thursday I got some clear direction on fitness certifications (prayer for what to teach)! I was so happy that night I couldn’t stop smiling.

On Thursday, I was researching fitness certifications and had some confusion on what courses to take, where to take them, how much they were going to cost, and if would they add value to my fitness classes. There are so many options out there, I didn’t have a clear direction on what I was going to do.

That evening on my way to my 2nd Xtend Barre class in Mission Viejo, I prayed for direction on my instructor certifications. I got to the studio about 15 minutes early to warm-up and ended up chatting with the instructor, Courtney, who is also the co-owener of the studio. I told her I was taking the group fitness certification next weekend and we got to talking about other certifications I should get. :-)

There’s a huge certification weekend through the AFAA the weekend of Feb 10-12 where all workshops are $99 (reg $129) so I thought it would be good to take both the yoga and Pilates courses that weekend. Thankfully, Courtney warned me that those are basic introductory courses and don’t hold any value with fitness studios. She saved me $200 and 16 hours of classes! She also told me about the best Pilates certifications and what I should look for in a course.

After the awesome, sweat dripping Xtend Barre workout, I asked her about the future plans of the studio since they just opened less than a month ago. They are planning on doing a big Grand Opening in January and will begin to offer more classes with Pilates mat, Pilates reformer and yoga classes. She also mentioned they want to have Piloxing classes too and I told her that was one of my top choices for instructor certifications. And then, she encouraged me to attend the Piloxing training class in San Diego in January. Exactly what I was praying for! Not only that, she also said I could possibly teach Piloxing at Xtend Barre too!

Wow, such an exciting night for me to get clear encouragement and direction on my next steps in my fitness journey.

As of today, these are the certifications I want to get:

Certification When? Instruction Time Total Cost
Piloxing Jan 2012 8 hours $250
Yoga ? ? ?
Pilates (Mat) Spring 2012 40 hours $1,250
Booty Barre Fall 2012 16 hours $650

These instructor courses are going to take a lot of time, money and practice but I feel these are the right classes for me to teach in my fitness career. In addition to these fitness classes, I plan on teaching a bootcamp style workout with circuit training and a blended class of yoga, Pilates, barre and basic fitness.

On another note. . . . .I was browsing for some new gym shoes because my beat up running shoes need to be retired. I love the new Nike LunarGlide+3’s and created a sweet looking shoe on Nike.com:

Cute, right?? I gotta look good as an instructor!

Do you have a favorite gym shoe??

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah OUaL / Nov 14 2011 3:20 pm

    Bri!!!! This is so exciting! I want to come to all your classes once you’re certified, ok? Also I give a big stamp of approval on the new Nikes. Super cute.

  2. ShapedforFitness / Nov 14 2011 3:28 pm

    Thanks Sarah! I would love for you to come to my class someday!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

