Skip to content
October 30, 2011 / ShapedforFitness

Pure Barre

Today’s Workout: Pure Barre – 55 min

Today I went to my first Pure Barre class with my good friend Seong-Hye. This weekend they were offering your first class for free so we took advantage of it.

Pure Barre in Irvine, CA

“Pure Barre is a total body workout that lifts your seat, tones your thighs and burns fat in record-breaking time. Utilizing the ballet barre to perform small isometric movements set to fantastic music, Pure Barre is the fastest, most effective, yet safest way to change your body. Students see results in just 10 classes.

Pure Barre is intelligent exercise. The technique protects your joints as it does not involve any bouncing or jumping. Each strength section of the workout is followed by a stretching section in order to create long, lean muscle without bulk. The workout launches a full-blown attack on the areas of the body all women struggle with: abs, hips, seat and arms. It defies gravity by tapering everything in and lifting it up.” – Pure Barre

I’ve been taking a variety of barre classes over the past 2 months and Pure Barre is nothing like the rest. From the get-go, your muscles burn as you work each of them to exhaustion.  The warm-up seemed to last only a minute before we grabbed hand weights and started working on our shoulders. I used 3-lb weights, which seemed like nothing in the beginning, but a huge mistake for my first time. I couldn’t even finish the sets. I was gritting my teeth like these girls too:

Pure Barre Warm-up

(Photo Source)

After the warm-up, we moved over to the barre and had to constantly squeeze this little PB ball:

I’m not sure how long we stayed on the barre but it felt like forever in this “seat” position. My legs would NOT stop shaking and I felt like a Team Edward girl meeting Robert Pattinson.

Legs were shaking uncontrollably!

(Photo Source)

Being a pretty strong athlete that has taken these classes for two months straight, I thought I would be strong enough to finish the sets. No way! We probably did about 10 sets of 10 reps in this position, and after the 3rd set the number of reps I completed diminished from 10 to 9 to 8 to 7 reps because I had to stop to take breaks. Whoa! The big difference in the PB workout is that they focus on the little stabilizer muscles instead of the large, powerful muscles. (That’s my studying coming out!)

After all the seat work, we got down on our hands and knees to work our hips. We did lots of leg raises to the side while squeezing the ball behind our knee and then more side raises without the ball and a straight leg. I felt like collapsing my hips were so tired. We did a little more hips/butt work in bridge position and used the stretch band as resistance.

Finally, we moved onto the core work with some small movement ab exercises and back flexion “supermans” on stomach.

What I liked about Pure Barre:

  • Very challenging class!
  • Structured routine with good flow from exercise to exercise
  • Non-impact
  • Isolated muscles groups all over body, focus on hard to reach areas
  • My hips and butt already feel lifted after 1 class
  • You WILL see and feel results after 10 classes. Very effective workout!
What I didn’t like about Pure Barre:
  • No cardio. I definitely worked up a sweat but more like yoga sweat.
  • Not very challenging ab work. I didn’t really understand the ab moves so I don’t think I was in the right position. Maybe after a few more classes I’ll figure it out and work my abs properly.
  • No dancing or fun moves. If we have to do all those butt and hip exercises, I’d like to shake my booty to the music a little to take my mind off the pain.
Overall: I’m definitely going back for more! Pure Barre is an awesome toning workout that strengthens those hard to reach areas and will challenge your muscle endurance. It’s also a great cross-training workout for any athlete.
4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Chase / Oct 30 2011 6:50 pm

    I really want to try these classes! I am not sure if they’re offered anywhere near me but I should look into it!

  2. ShapedforFitness / Oct 30 2011 7:25 pm

    Chase, you would love these classes. It’s one of the hardest workouts I’ve done. Not cardio hard, but tiny muscle strength and endurance hard. Imagine doing wall squats for 3 minutes with pelvic tilts, pulses up and down, and knee squeezes. . . while on your toes the entire time.

    Looks like they don’t have a class nearby you, but I think a PB studio would do really well in NOVA. Maybe if you come to Cali we can go to a class together! :-)

Trackbacks

  1. Orange County Fitness Deals « SHAPEd for Fitness
  2. I’m Going Barre Crazy!!! « SHAPEd for Fitness

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

